Notices

Saw AA person outside a meeting

Old 06-26-2012, 11:45 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Saw AA person outside a meeting

I am pretty new to the program- about 45 days. Recently I saw a fellow AA member at a resturaunt having dinner with his family. I realy like this guy and have had a few chats with after the meetings. I know he has been sober for over 10 years but I do not know how public he is about his sobriety. I said hello at the resturaunt and when I saw him at our next meeting I got a bad vibe. I tried to catch him after the nmeeting but I missed him. Did I mess up by saying hello in a public place?
Old 06-26-2012, 11:48 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I always say hello to other AA people if I see them around town. But it's normally just a wave and a smile and perhaps a "how are you doing?" then I move on. We can always chat on the phone or in the room.
Old 06-26-2012, 11:50 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Run to live... live to run

Maybe so. Some people there are probably completely annoyomous and haven't even told thier spouses.. I personally wouldn't say hi to someone unless they did first. But I would try and talk to them and feel them out, if they are upset, just let them know you are new at this, and didn't know.
Old 06-26-2012, 11:50 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi mds1212

I haven't been to AA myself, so I don't know if there are protocols about what to do when seeing people outside of the meetings, perhaps you could talk to him at the next meeting and ask if you saying hi was wrong ? ... perhaps other members here will have a better perspective on this than me...but please don't feel guilty or bad about this, you were just trying to be friendly..something this world could do with a lot more of
Old 06-26-2012, 11:51 AM
  # 5 (permalink)