Notices

Something Scary Just Happened To Me That Prompted Me 2 Join

Old 06-20-2012, 02:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Something Scary Just Happened To Me That Prompted Me 2 Join

Hi, my name is Jack. I'm 20 years old and from Missouri, though I spent most of my life in Alaska. I have been drinking probably for about 3 years. I've always had a problem with excess throughout my life. Spent most of my teenage life battling food addiction. I seem to have gotten that vice under control in the past year though, as I've dropped about 80 lbs. My friends have always been amazed at my apparent tolerance to alcohol. I drink about a liter of vodka a night, every night.

I'm very familiar with alcohol withdrawal, as I go through it everyday until I can have more alcohol. I've had the shakes, panic attacks, etc. Something very strange though happened to me today on my drive home from work. It is the first time my withdrawals have become unpredictable. As I was driving home from work I started to feel a tingle in my left arm. At first I didn't think much of it, I just assumed my arm had just fell asleep. Suddenly though that same tingling sensation moved over to my other arm. Then it moved to my legs. As the tingling got stronger it because much harder and harder to move my body. I couldn't move my fingers. I felt like a wind up toy with all this tension building up throughout my body. That 15 minute car ride felt like the longest 15 minutes of my life. When I got home, my entire upper body was shaking and still tingling. My legs would barely move, I really had to will myself to just walk. Fortunately, I had plenty of alcohol in the house so once I entered I did what I euphemistically call my five "Sober shots". These are the shots of liquor I take right when I get home to feel sober again.