BF wants to leave rehab early

Old 06-15-2012, 03:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
One day at a time

Question BF wants to leave rehab early

Hi Y'all,

This is my first time here to SR but gosh has it been helpful. I now have some questions of my own, thank you in advance for all your help/input.

My BF went into rehab because he is addicted to opiates and "legal meth". He has been in treatment for 47 of his 90 days. When he first entered treatment he called 3 days in and said he was coming home and that he didn't want to be there anymore. At this time I hadn't been doing any step work or nar-anon so I totally let it tear me up. Luckily he stayed. After that I decided I needed to work on myself too, so I started nar-anon and the steps. With that said I sent him a letter outlining my bottom line if he left early which was:

We wouldn't be together anymore. Period.

He then said at 30 days that he was going to leave. So I told him that was his choice and he knew the consequences, he said he'd stay "for me". Ugh. His reasoning at 30 days was that he learned everything he was going to be able to learn in rehab and that he wanted "real life".

Well, he called his parents today (who were on board with me about the 90 days being necessary) and told them that because there are only 3 people in the rehab and that the supervisors are slacking off and he's not getting the teaching he needs -weird since he said he had already learned everything - and that they are verbally abusing him. (I'll call B.S. on that too)

Basically he's now wearing on his parents and I feel like he's manipulating them into letting him come home.

His counselors say he's starting to get it, but that he's got a lot to learn. He's been isolating from other members in the house and lashing out because he doesn't want to be there.

My questions are:
  • Should I reinforce my line, plain and simple? Or should I see if there are any concrete reasons for what he's saying?