New to all this

Old 06-14-2012, 08:29 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to all this

Hey everyone. I'm new to all this, sort of. I am the classic daughter of an alcoholic (sober 12 years now) and I fell in love with another. I made excuses, told myself I could help him. I prayed for him fiercely, loved him, forgave him, enabled him. Over the past 18 months he has grown so much!! Yet alcohol was still where he turned when life got hard. He is going through AA right now, and 3 weeks into this, he has decided that he needs to "take a break." I was confused, hurt, but I didn't fight that. I want him to heal and get better. I love him more than he realizes. He says he loves me, and I feel that he does, but he has to focus on him now. I'm struggling with that. Any advice on how to handle this?? I know I have to respect it, and I'm doing that. What are some things that I can do to work on myself through this?
Old 06-14-2012, 09:00 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
peaceful seabird

Welcome to the SR family!

I like the saying in Alanon for family of addicted loved ones:

"Work the kind of program you want to see them working"

By focusing on your own recovery, you are becoming a healthier YOU!

Have you tried Alanon or individual counseling? Alanon meetings helped me to regain my focus, gave me my own literature to read, and offered face-to-face support with people that understood what my life was like.

I also got support, understanding, encouragement and wisdom by reading and posting as much as needed here at SR. I hope you will make yourself at home and do the same! We care about you.
Old 06-14-2012, 09:07 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you...Can you give me any more info about Alanon?
Old 06-14-2012, 09:33 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
peaceful seabird

Here is a link to a post that contains questions to see if you are someone that may benefit from attending Alanon:

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...self-test.html