Are there any signs

Old 06-13-2012, 08:46 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Are there any signs

Ok. I'm new to this all. If you read my posts yesterday I'm pining away for a girl who everyone says to run away from. Which I don't know I can do but will try to be a friend and hopefully not continue with ideas that we could be together. But just wondering. Are there any signs someone is wanting help or getting close to perhaps beginning a road to recovery. She's said she knows she needs to make changes but that may all be talk. What have you found?
Old 06-13-2012, 08:51 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki

Talk is nothing. Action is key. Many alcoholics know they need to make changes all the way to their grave. Relatively few ever do anything about it.
Old 06-13-2012, 08:59 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Signs of getting closer to recovery? - No longer drinking. Living an honest life (which would mean no longer cheating on her boyfriend), participating in some kind of recovery, her whining will dry up and she'll start acting like she wants recovery.

It is so hard to quit listening to the words, especially when the words are what we want to hear, but talk is cheap. Talk doesn't mean a thing. The actions are what matter. From my experience with my xah the more he talked about it the less he did about it. He finally shut up when he focused on recovery for real - which he did not do until he was homeless, jobless, penniless, wifeless, and far away from his children and there was nowhere else to go and nothing else to do but enter treatment.
Old 06-13-2012, 09:13 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Please look over to a thread on this forum entitled, "opinions please".

You could probably read the responses there, and just switch the gender.

Maybe those posts can help you make your decision.
Old 06-13-2012, 11:07 AM
  # 5 (permalink)