Notices

It should be so simple.

Old 06-08-2012, 02:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

It should be so simple.

I could have a glass of wine, maybe two. Then I would put the cork back in the bottle, wash out the wine glass, and make some tea. I have self-discipline, I just have to make a little bit of an effort, but really, it's simple. One, maybe two glasses -- and then stop.

Never mind the fact that I've never done that before, at least in recent memory. Why does that voice keep telling me the same lie? It's okay, I'm not believing it, not really. I want to believe it, which is why I've fallen for it so many times. But it always ends up the same way: Is that the last of that bottle already? I'll just open up another bottle and have a tiny bit more. Next thing you know, I'm waking up with a headache, a foul taste in my mouth, and a heavy sense of uneasiness and shame.

Anyway, that voice is bothering me, which is why I came here to tell on her. She'll go away if I ignore her long enough.
Old 06-08-2012, 02:42 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Yea I moderated and controlled drinking so long I ended up in ER. The best laid plans of Mike and Men always go astray
Old 06-08-2012, 02:47 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Choosing Life

Yep, that's how it works. Mine was always, "Aw, all you need is a couple. Just to take the edge off. You'll feel nice and mellow for a bit, get a chance to chill, and then you can get back to the business of life." Yeah, right. Ten, 11, 12+ shots later, I'm waking up after being passed out on my couch for God knows how long and saying, "HUH?"

It's just a voice ... it has no power over me unless I let it win. I must say it gives me great pleasure these days to ignore it and watch it suffer while I emerge on the high road.
Old 06-08-2012, 02:47 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Oh I know that feeling Luling. I think we can torture ourselves for hours if we get into a dialogue with it.