Notices

Something has to change, I can't do this alone (please read)

Old 05-16-2012, 12:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Something has to change, I can't do this alone (please read)

Hi everyone, I am 25 years old, and I have been drinking hard liquor almost every single day for the last 4 years at the rate of about a handle of vodka every 2-3 days.

I was lucky landed a very promising job a few months ago. The job was nightshift, so my drinking problem worsened. I'd come home in the morning and let myself get drunk, and wake up the next day always hungover, and sometimes still drunk. On weekends, I'd wake up in the evening (since that was my schedule) and still let myself get drunk because "it was during the evening so it was okay" Long story short, my drinking is becoming much worse than before (which was really bad in the first place). Now I can barely make it a couple hours at home without getting smashed.

I missed work last night thinking that yesterday was today. Even if I had remembered I was still too drunk to go when I woke up/realized it. I'm putting my great job in jeapardy, and I know my body won't last another 15 years at this rate. I am afraid to start school, to get a girlfriend, or take on any responsibility. I am also losing friends, and becoming more and more reclusive. Hell, I don't ever let my room mates into my room because there are empty vodka bottles everywhere.

I've tried quitting before. It was about a year and a half ago when I made it about 3 months (but it was with the help of taking my mom's painkillers and morphine she was prescribed)... She caught me red handed one day, so I stopped taking the painkillers. I was very depressed, and had terrible anxiety. I couldn't enjoy anything, and even if I could I just couldn't sit still enough. I decided to see a Doctor and told him that I had depression (I did not mention the addictions).