How to support recovering addict?

Old 05-14-2012, 07:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How to support recovering addict?

Hi all, I'm a newbie here.

My fiance and I have been together for 10 years. For about 8 of those years, he has been an off-and-on addict. He did just about every drug in his youth, is a recovering alcoholic, but has mostly been a "functioning" addict for the better part of his life.

He has sought psychotherapy, but it was mostly unsuccessful. The times it was, he had to discontinue for financial reasons.

Last year, he started to get his life together. At his lowest point, I told him to choose between alcohol or me (at the time, he was not taking drugs) and he chose to get sober. I said I would always be there for him as long as he was helping himself. I'm so proud to say he's been sober from alcohol for 9 months. During this time, he proposed to me and I said yes.

This year he also sought the help of a psychiatrist who has seemingly helped stabilize his mood disorders with medication, but he is not seeing an actual therapist. Recently, he was in a motorcycle accident and when the doc asked what he wanted for pain, he said Oxycontin.

It had been so long since he was addicted to opiates (at least 7 years) that I did not think it would be an issue. Well, he ran out of his prescription and the doc refused to refill it. After several days of withdrawals and pain he could not manage, he began to seek it out.

He quickly realized he had a problem and did not want it to spiral out of control. We are both so exhausted with this cycle of addiction/sobriety, and want to lead normal, healthy and sober lives. He said he needed help, and wanted to enter a methadone program. I tried to talk him out of it - saying he could go to NA meetings for support and just allow himself another week to detox. He didn't agree that was best, and chose to enter the program on Friday.