need some advice

Old 05-11-2012, 08:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

need some advice

I met this pretty cool guy. I'm fairly recently out of a serious relationship, but ended it and am at peace withthe fact that it didn't work. This guy is super sweet and makes me laugh. He's been sober for 18 months, but has been instatutionalized the whole time (jail and rehab). Now he's been completely up front about his story, as have I. We've both discussed taking it veeeeeery slowly. Sure he give a kiss every night we see each other before I leave, but its not been further then that. We spend the whole time just talking. As I type this out and reread it, it seems like we're doing things they way we should. I have very little experience with people in recovery, but not a complete str I just don't want to screw things up for him .. he does still have a ton of things to do to rebuild his life, and he is determined to do it... should I put us to the back burner before it gets anywhere so he can focus on his thing?
Old 05-11-2012, 08:50 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Curmudgeon, Electrical Engineer, Guitar God Wannabe

Location: Where the mighty arms of Atlas hold the heavens from the Earth
If he has a ton of things to do to rebuild his life, then you have to ask yourself why he's starting a relationship with you. More to the point, why are starting a relationship with someone who has spent most of the past 18 months in either jail or rehab?

I see that you've just joined the board, and I'm very happy that you have. You will find that you're amongst friends. Please take the time to read the sticky notes on the home page and learn about what it is you're dealing with. There is a lot of knowledge to be gained, provided you have an open mind. Please, please be careful.

Welcome to the board.

ZoSo
Old 05-11-2012, 09:25 PM
  # 3 (permalink)