Notices

Just started

Old 05-05-2012, 12:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
A girl can dream...

Just started

Hi,

I'm new to chat rooms, blogs, etc so hopefully I've done this right. I'm an alcoholic and am trying to quit AGAIN! After finding this website and seeing so many encouraging words from people I feel I can do this this time.
Old 05-05-2012, 12:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Lots of amazing people offering support here - congratulations on wanting to quit I know that you can stop drinking!
Old 05-05-2012, 12:14 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

I'm glad you found us and you will find lots of support here.
Old 05-05-2012, 12:17 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
A girl can dream...

Thanks! My husband is an alcoholic too but refuses to believe it and doesn't want to quit. That's why I've failed so many times before. I can't talk to him about so I knew I had to go looking for other people that understand what's going on in my life. I feel better already having joined this site.
Old 05-05-2012, 12:28 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to the family! :ghug3
Old 05-05-2012, 12:28 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Hi.
I'm in exactly the same boat, my husband is also an alcoholic in firm denial. I'm a month sober, it hasn't/isn't easy living with this. But so far it is working for me and my resolve is stronger than ever!
I go to AA meetings, have you tried that? I'm surrounded with people who understand there, have got phone numbers of people I can phone, and the encouragement I get on this forum is unbelievable!
It's early days, I know that, but this weekend I can see a slight shift in his thinking. He is listening to me and has cut back his drinking to reasonable limits.
I hope that one day he will join me but in the meantime I'm doing this for me. I can't begin to tell you how much better my life is becoming.
Go for it. We will all help and support you as best we can xx
Old 05-05-2012, 12:38 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  
A girl can dream...