Notices

Reasons, Excuses, Justifications

Old 04-30-2012, 06:59 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Reasons, Excuses, Justifications

I'm wondering how people have justified or made excuses for their drinking in the past? And how to pick apart these excuses. I have a few of my own examples:

I'm a student, drinking is what students do! - Its not an obligation, nobody forces it on us, and not all students even drink. Getting a bit tipsy and blacking out are two different things.

It's only a bit of fun! - Starting fights, passing out, putting yourself in vulnerable situations, ruining your health and being incredibly hungover is NOT fun!

Well, your only young once, might as well enjoy it! - Enjoy what exactly? Waking up in a wet bed covered in bruises?

I'm not harming anyone! - Apart from my friends when I called them all names, and my boyfriend when I told him things I don't mean. And that person I punched last night........ etc........

Who really cares though? It's my life! - My friends care when they have to get out of bed to come pick me up when I've passed out in a bar at 3 am!!

I could go on. What have you told yourself in the past in order to justify your drinking habits?
Old 04-30-2012, 07:17 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Random Guy

I'm single, don't have kids, don't get in trouble, don't drink and drive, do well at my job, so what am I hurting? Those are the excuses I used for years.
Old 04-30-2012, 08:26 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Originally Posted by sunandrain View Post
What have you told yourself in the past in order to justify your drinking habits?
That I didn't have a problem. And when I realized I did have a problem, I told myself I could control my drinking.

And when I couldn't control my drinking I told myself I would quit....

...real soon.
Old 04-30-2012, 08:28 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

"I'm never drinking again!"

Countless times I've said that...
Old 04-30-2012, 08:35 AM
  # 5 (permalink)