Being alone...

Old 04-22-2012, 12:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Being alone...

I am fairly new to SR, I have posted a couple times here when I first came out of my last relationship with yet another addicted person. I have learned allot from SR and I thank you all for your stories and your honesty. This forum has truly been a saving grace for me.

Since being on my own again for the last month or so I have been going through allot of emotions and I wanted some feedback on some different thoughts I am trying to process in my new single life.

I believe I have allot to learn about myself so that this pattern does not continue. I am 41 and I have been married twice, the first marriage was to an alcoholic and my second one was to a gambling addict. My last relationship was with yet another alcoholic and just ended a month ago after dating him since last summer. I struggled with ending my marriages and gave each of them chance after chance to change but they both eventually ended with my realization that they weren’t’ going to change. Luckily with this last one I have no desire to take him back. So far so good anyway, SR has been helping me with this!

I have realized I am truly codependent and I think I am attracted to emotionally unavailable men because I had an alcoholic father who was also emotionally unavailable.

I have also been realizing that the reason I am in and out of bad relationships (and the reason I had problems letting go of my ex’s in the past) is a deep seeded fear of being alone. I always thought I was so independent but when I really listen to my thoughts lately I realize that I have moments of utter fear of getting old and not meeting someone who will love me.