Notices

having trouble

Old 04-08-2012, 08:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

having trouble

I'm still new to recovery and have recently been having some difficulty with cravings. I am not active in AA and am not sure that I want to be. I was previously involved in a different town a few years back and that didn't turn out so well. Not sure if I want to try again or just go about this on my own with the support of my family and friends, none of which use alcohol around me. I think the weather combined with the smell of campfires has just been a major trigger for me. Just wanting some advice on how to deal. Thanks.
Old 04-08-2012, 08:49 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome beads

Personally I've found a great deal of support here and it really made a difference - I hope it will for you too.

If you find you need more support tho, there's many different approaches and methods of recovery around - here's some links to some of the main players (including AA but not limited to that):

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...formation.html

I recommend you visit the Secular Connections forum if you think you may benefit from a non 12 step approach.

good to have you with us

D
Old 04-08-2012, 08:50 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

with friends and family who don't use, sounds like you already have a great support group. Myself, i do the AA/NA thing . groups around here have several campouts every spring and summer. After 16 years, the smell of a campfire has come to be associated with folk speaking from their hearts about the reality of life. I like that.
Old 04-08-2012, 08:55 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thanks!!! I do have an amazing support system. I will check out some alternative methods too. Already, just being on here reading posts for a half hour has gotten me through this night. Amazing!
Old 04-08-2012, 09:28 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR, beads. This place has been an invaluable source of information and support for me—hope it serves you well, too.