Notices

Struggling with the mess I've made of my life

Old 04-02-2012, 02:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Struggling with the mess I've made of my life

I am almost 30 days clean of a 15 yr opiate addiction, physically most days are great but emotionally I am a yo yo!!!!Any advise:
Old 04-02-2012, 03:04 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR szavo...This is a great site....Why not hang around with some addicts in recovery...Check out an NA meeting....Meet some people with the same problems that you have that are finding a solution. I had a bad problem with alcohol...That's how I used AA. You put in the effort....It works.
Old 04-02-2012, 03:07 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks....I am planning on going to one tomorrow, 1st time. This has been my dirty little secret for yrs so it's a big step, only my close family a friends knew.
Old 04-02-2012, 03:08 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi szavo

I have no experience with opiate addiction but many of our members have and I'm sure you'll hear from them.

My drug was alcohol but I was a little emotionally up and down for a while too - I think it's a part of any withdrawal - and especially if you've been using for a while - we have to get used to feeling things again you know?

As for the past - we sort it out like we sort out any mess I think - one piece, and one day, at a time

Glad to have you here - you might like to also check out our substance abuse forum too:

Substance Abuse - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

D
Old 04-02-2012, 03:12 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by szavo View Post
Thanks....I am planning on going to one tomorrow, 1st time. This has been my dirty little secret for yrs so it's a big step, only my close family a friends knew.
I found it real helpful to be around people with the same problem...It's like hanging around on this site....Stick around people that want to get better...You have free time...Hang out here. Enjoy your meeting..