Need some advice- my wife and booze/OTC medications

Old 03-31-2012, 08:15 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need some advice- my wife and booze/OTC medications

My wife has struggled with alcohol for about two years. Classic mom sneaking shots of vodka or glasses of wine while cooking dinner. She went to a few meetings in the fall and winter and seemed to stop sneaking wine, vodka at times I wasn't home, and the little plastic bottles of covert booze went away. But recently I confronted her about OTC things like over-using Nyquil. Now she is hiding Nyquil bottles and lying about why one bottle is gone, replaced by another, all while I know one is hidden in her closet right now. So- my question- do I keep letting her know she is not fooling me and that I know she is hiding Nyquil? Of course, my greater concern is that she is also hiding booze somewhere. Thoughts on what I should do?
Old 03-31-2012, 08:30 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I am still kind of new to this, but it sounds like your wife is still having a big problem. It's great that she went to meetings, is she in therapy or getting additional help? While I may be new to this, I have to say that ignoring it does not help, it won't make it go away, but driving yourself nuts isn't doing you any good either. I would get some help for yourself, and try to figure out what you want and what is best for you and the kids. If she really wants to stop she needs help and needs to commit to it. I found out my boyfriend was using pills 2 years ago and although he stopped he never got professional help and never really took responsibility for his actions. Now he is drinking and still won't get help. I have found that talking to someone with a drug/alcohol problem when they are not ready to give it up is like talking to a brick wall. My therapist says that when a person is ready to get help you know it...they are desperate and willing to do anything to stop. You could help her find some places to get help and support her while detaching so