Notices

seeking help for loved one

Old 03-26-2012, 09:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

seeking help for loved one

Hello, I am seeking support. my husband is an addict and I have been enabling him for the past 4 years. I have been the only one working to put a roof over our heads and attempting to keep our family together. he has gone through detox three times but has a hard time fallowing through any other type of support system offered to him. we were best friends but his disease has pushed us apart. i feel like i am ready to give up on him but at the same time i feel like i haven't given him my all to help him though it and get the help he needs. my family wants me to leave him and have a difficult time understanding the situation. i also have three girls between the age's of 3 and 10. i feel so lost i don't know what direction to take. on top of his opiate addiction (Rx) he is starting to have a lot of health issues, overweight, depression, stress, anxiety. i don't know what path to take, i want to help him but i don't even know where to start. thank you for your time.
Old 03-26-2012, 09:39 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
I'm here to learn!

Welcome to SR.

I'm sorry you're going through that. You will find a lot of support here. Check out our friends and family boards for others who are in your position.

There is also Alanon and Naranon which can provide you support and help you with your recovery.

Best wishes,
Old 03-26-2012, 09:52 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
~sb

Welcome to SR!

Glad you are here. You aren't alone anymore. I understand what you are going through and suggest Al Anon or Nar Anon. Children are often allowed. Sometimes they also have Alateen and Alatots. Call your local group by searching: al anon city state