Notices

Do I need help?

Old 03-21-2012, 08:14 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Do I need help?

Hi all,
I will try to keep this short. I am a 24 year old female and I believe I have an anxiety problem. Have been on prozac on and off since I was 15, always believed I drank the 'normal' amount that my teenage friends did, didn't drink at all through 6 form, went mental 1st and 2nd year of University. Was out 2-3 times a week.
Briefly just want to point out, I've been so anxious before at around 19 years old during A2 Levels I've had panic attacks and mental obsessions about HIV, that's how bad I was.
Anyway, suddenly out of the blue I have developed a MASSIVE mental obsession with the question of am I an alcoholic in any shape way or form? It's so stupid because I rationalise it really seriously one minute, then tell myself I'm being overly anxious the next.
I have never had a blackout, I don't throw up when I go out and get drunk with friends or pass out, I'm in my last year of University and hardly go out at all now, due to growing up and work, but where has this guilt and re thinking/back tracking every single time i've drunk come from? Is it just anxiety?
I'm keeping charts of when I drink and what i drink on drinkaware.co.uk to 'track myself' and panicking about it so much. I have drunk 4 times this month, and once was considered a 'binge' I had 5 single rum and cokes over about 4 hours, and a pint of ale at a rugby match. I didnt' even feel drunk.
I can have a few drinks and not feel the need to drink more but it doesnt really do anything for me anymore, maybe because I'm feeling so anxious about it!
The Only time in my life I have been worried was last year, I drank a lot but for the wrong reasons.