Notices

My Story.

Old 03-12-2012, 04:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My Story.

Alcohol has ruined my life over the last couple of years. Reading these forums has brought me comfort and I realize I'm not alone in the fight. I'm 42 and only started drinking a few years ago. I was in a relationship - turbulentto say the least! Before I met T I was a successful golf teacher - I had the biggest kids acadamy in the county! Then in she walked - the most wonderful deep green eyes! <sigh>...The first month or so was magical. I then started to notice silly little things - irrational almost. I brushed them off. At one point she told me she had something called 'Fear of Abandoment' - at that point I didn't know what it was! Over the next 7 years I had every accusation under the sun - I was constantly defending myself - always on the back foot. She diagnosed me with bi-polar and insisted I went to get help...her argument was convincing and eventually I had convinced myself too. I was on a promise of mind altering, personality changing drugs for the rest of my life. The thought of it terrified me. Still the accusations came - dragging up the past - day after day. I'd be pushed to breaking point so many times I'd go upstairs and start packing my things - T would follow me, begging me to stay and promising she wouldn't do it again...sometime less that an hour passed and it would start again. I stayed because I loved her and was convinced she was the one - she would say 'I love you unconditionally and I want to spend my life with you'...everyone around me was saying 'Get Out!!' The last 12 months I decided to hang in there - I took both barrels every day. I saw I shrink re the Bi-polar and was told there was nothing wrong with me - mental exhaustion. I found comfort in alcohol. Not much at first but it gradually became every day - I'd take extra ***** at work just for a break...finally the inevitable happened. It ended. I felt like my world had ended and there was no tomorrow - That's