Advice?

Old 02-22-2012, 01:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Advice?

I'm new to SR. I posted this is the newcomer forum, but I figured I'd put it here too.

Ok. I'm not really accustomed to asking for help or advice, but I'm way out of my league. I am not an alcoholic, or addict of any other kind (as far as I am aware). I am, however, the daughter of an alcoholic. I'm 27 and I have almost zero memories of my father sober. He wasn't just a drunk, he was a mean drunk and, though my mom and my siblings took the brunt of the physical abuse, we all suffered. Now my father has been sober for a few years and has remarried. Which is all fine and good and I wish him well. Meanwhile, I've been in therapy for years for treatment of Adult Children of Alcoholics Syndrome and para-alcoholism (which is apparently where you take on the personality characteristics of an alcoholic [the lying, the anger, the shame, the blame-shifting, etc] without actually having to drink. I've made a lot of improvement and it helped to be able to understand why I was doing the things I was doing. But it never really goes away, awareness only goes so far. And good luck trying to get anyone to recognize para-alcoholism as an actual thing, by the way. Regardless...