Is home poisonous?

Old 02-19-2012, 09:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Thumbs down Is home poisonous?

I hate my home. It's disastrously messy, but I don't see the mess unless someone comes in. I hate it when people come to the house (which happens VERY rarely). My home is my refuge and is an utter escape. But I hate it. I can't wait to get home, but home doesn't make me happy. Yet it's where I find the three most important people in my life: my wife, and my two daughters.

When my home is messy, I'm comfortable but embarrassed. When I clean, I feel something nagging at me that I don't understand, it makes me anxious. At home I am a failure and irresponsible. I rot inside the house. I was a student, then a depressed waste, then a depressed father kept going by a new baby, and then a depressed father all over again. 10 years I spent inside the house. No friends, no life outside the babies and my wife. On antidepressants, yet still angry, frustrated, and anxious. It was a decade long trek toward divorce and losing my children. I still feared being in the real world as miserable as I was.

My youngest went off to school. So did I, online. That was a mistake. I cannot succeed at home. I quit school again. My wife insisted I start working, so I beat the street. Five months later, I'd had only one interview. As it turns out, employers don't like a ten year employment break. I walked in to a temp agency and before I had finished signing in, they had a job for me at $9/hr. I broke my finger on the job and wasn't able to finish the assignment. A month later I was surprised by a call from HR at the place I had broken my finger. They wanted me permanently. That was a year ago, and now I run an entire section myself, have been promoted and gotten three raises. Now I make more than $16/hr. My supervisors are grooming me for a supervisory position opening up in the next few months.