Sitting on The Fence

Old 02-10-2012, 06:10 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Sitting on The Fence

I've been sitting on the fence for about 6 months about whether to attend an Al Anon meeting. Here's my delimma...
I live in an incredibly small town in Virginia. I've lived here 20+ years and seem to know just about everyone.
My AH has been here about 15 and is in the construction biz. He knows alot of people in the field as well has a decent client base. To the unsuspecting eye AH is a social drinker, occasionally getting a bit over the edge but never out of control. (That only happens at home) He's well liked in the community and is concidered a great guy, everyone's friend.
I know there is the cover of anomynity at meetings, but my husband just went into business for himself the beginning of 2010 and I am nervous that if I go to meetings I'm almost assuredly going to run into someone I know or who knows AH. And these people may be potential clients, who otherwise would not know about the addiction.
How can I go to Al Anon, speak freely and get the support I need without damaging AH's reputation?
I don't want y'all to think I'm so much trying to protect him, the family and close friends all know the truth, but I'm not in a position to leave yet and we need his income to make mortgage payments etc. Any suggestions? [/FONT]
Old 02-10-2012, 06:29 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I grew outside of a small town in Illinois that had only 750 people. At my first Al-Anon meeting I walked in to find....my high school Spanish teacher! I almost died. But one of the strongest concepts on which Al-anon is based is "What you see here, what you hear here, when you leave here, let it stay here" and it always did. And my XAH's first sponsor turned out to be from a rather prominent family (if you can be prominent in a town of 750) in my very hometown who was also the ER doctor in the neighboring town. Nary a peep was said by anyone to anyone. Ever.