Notices

Not Day 1, but feels like the first hour

Old 01-28-2012, 05:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Not Day 1, but feels like the first hour

I've been abusing alcohol and drugs for over 10 years now, I am only 23. After losing my job, getting married, and starting college last year, I decided to get clean. It is so hard not to want to get high. I am Bipolar and weed was how I always coped with life. I always said weed was my first love, my first marriage. Now I am in the middle of a nasty divorce. I am not sure how long I have been sober from weed. It might have only been a month or so, I decided to start counting from the beginning of the new year. So its been 28 days now. Its been 3 days since I have had a drink. I do not consider my alcohol consumption as being a problem now. I might have 4 beers once every 2 weeks, maybe. I pretty much have that under control. But there is not a day that goes by that I do not want to high on something. I have done almost everything: cocaine (my 2nd love), meth, rolls, pain pills, nerve relaxers & muscle relaxers(i am prescribed these, i try my best not to abuse them), weed, acid, and alcohol.. I just do not know how to cope with life right now. I am going through a few martial problems, school is overwhelming me, broke, and worry about how i am going to pay my bills everyday is not helping my sobriety. Well the being broke part, because I cannot afford my drugs.. I feel like any day I am going to sneak away from my husband and go get high.. Actually I have to talk myself out of it at least 10 times a day.. Bad part is my husband is a recovering addict himself... I am lost and not sure what to do anymore.. This low of a depression is killing me and I really just want to get high
Old 01-28-2012, 06:19 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

welcome sunshynemarie

learning to cope with life sober and staright was a big deal for me too - I think it is for most of us.