When you substitute another unhealthy behavior ...

Old 01-16-2012, 09:14 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
dbh

When you substitute another unhealthy behavior ...

Hello Everyone,

I've been struggling with something and I decided to reach out to see if someone has any ESH related to this.

I've been working on my recovery for about 4 years. I have made great strides, but still have a way to go. After a long hiatus, I'm starting to go to face to face meetings again and I plan to look for a sponsor so that I can continue with my steps.

The thing that I'm struggling with now is that I'm still "using" food as a means to comfort myself. I've been doing this since childhood - food, TV, books, and magazines were my favorite ways of zoning out and escaping the dramas of my childhood.

I have also always had issues with my weight. I eat pretty healthy now, but my weight is starting to climb into the obese range because I simply can't get a handle on my stress eating.

It's definitely ACA related. It happens mostly in the afternoon/early evening. The kids come home and I start feeling anxious about what I need to do and what I didn't accomplish that day. The way I choose to suppress these uncomfortable feelings is to sit at the computer and eat. I feel powerless over this behavior. It reminds me of how I used to obsess about people, places, and things.

Guess the solution would be to force myself to NOT "soothe" myself and actually experience whatever emotions are coming up during that time. Maybe journal instead of eat? To be quite honest, I don't really understand why I get so anxious during that time of day.

I'm finding that as I'm letting go of many of my "ACA behaviors", I'm clinging to the last of my unhealthy traits like a lifeline.

I'm almost scared to give up EVERYTHING.

I need to find healthy ways to comfort myself, but it's so hard to give up habits that have worked for almost 50 years.