Notices

Feeling Scared and Frustrated

Old 01-13-2012, 09:58 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feeling Scared and Frustrated

I'm 23 years old and I've been drinking for 10 years. I started blacking out when I was 16. I always tried to control my drinking so I could go out and have a few drinks like a normal person. Every once in awhile I feel like I've got the hang of it, and then something happens. When I black out I get angry and I'm mean to the people I love the most. Lately it's been my boyfriend. I was just on vacation for three weeks and I managed to keep my drinking in check the entire time, but in the week that I've been back I've blacked out three times. I know that I need to stop drinking, but I'm scared because I don't really know how to live without alcohol. It's just something I associate with going out, and being social, and having fun, even though more often than not these days it's not fun. I just wish that I could go out and have a couple drinks and come home and go to bed like a normal person, but I know that's not possible. If anyone has any thoughts or suggestions for me I'd really appreciate it. I really don't know where to go from here.
Old 01-13-2012, 10:07 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

helpful tips I hope

I am new to this site but not new to being an alcoholic having suffered through it for 20 years. 12 step recovery meetings is probably the best advice i can give you, you will make likekind friends who do not drink and can show you how to live sober and enjoy it. I recently relapsed but am back going to AA or CA meetings and living sober on day 15. It is so possible and you do not want to waste the next 20 years of your life trying to figure out how to drink successsfully most probably?
Old 01-13-2012, 10:23 PM
  # 3 (permalink)