Notices

Newbie Petrified

Old 01-11-2012, 03:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie Petrified

Hi

Im a newbie, found this site whilst Googling "fear of my 1st AA meeting". I have my first meeting this Sunday morning and I am petrified ... I have only recently admitted that I have a problem with drink and am feeling ashamed, guilty and beating myself up, I guess Ive had a problem with drink for a long long time .. I drink to get drunk. I'm known as the party girl - the fun - the life of the party .. I black out I wake up with the fear .. I hold down a top job and people in work are none the wiser.

I was in an abusive relationship for 8 years where I am was beaten phsysically and tortured mentally, drink helped me to cope and eventually 2 years ago I got out .. out of the relationship but then drink was my release my party-tool .. all my friends said how great it was to have me back "on form", I met a great guy who doesnt drink much a year ago and I guess through being with him I realised my behaviour wasn't normal and I dont want to lose him so I've decided I want to get help .. I want to enjoy my life, I want to live my life free from drink .. but how do I walk in that door on Sunday .. I'm afraid people will look, what if someone recognises me ... for the first time in a long long time .. I am PETRIFIED !!!

Plz help me ....
Old 01-11-2012, 03:21 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
JEANS

Hi Isabella and welcome to SR.

I've been putting off going to AA for the same reason you've given, what if someone recognises me. I admire you for actually deciding to go though. It's worth going, you don't have to speak from what I gather so just see how it goes. It's always scary going into a room full of new faces, especially when ur there for addiction. I need to take a leaf out of your book and stop making excuses and go to a meeting myself.

I'm glad you have found the courage to leave your ex. Have you stopped drinking now?

Good luck at your meeting, you'll be fine x