Notices

Detoxing Again

Old 01-07-2012, 08:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Detoxing Again

I'm xeroxing from alcohol now. I've done this over and over and each time it gets a little worse. Stuffy head, sweating, panic attacks, dizzy, heart racing, etc. Everytime I relapse it takes several days of abstinence before I can drive because of the dizziness. I used to be able to drink and in 8 hour or so, I'd be fine. I've been drinking daily for about 15 years and I drink at least a half gallon of vodka every day or 5-6 liters of wine. I'm trying to quit for good, any suggestions. Oh and I have diabetes and high blood pressure and numbness in my hands and fingers alot.
Old 01-07-2012, 08:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

That's a lot of booze to drink daily Kpit.
You should see your doc and be honest about how much you're drinking, they can help you detox.
If it's really bad tonight get to the hospital.
Old 01-07-2012, 08:49 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Please do see a Dr kpit - it's especially important if you have other health issues.

D
Old 01-07-2012, 08:59 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Definately get to a doc. This site is great support. There are many avenues of recovery that you can read up on here as well. For me AA works wonders. Whichever route you take, it requires lots of hard work. It is worth it. I promise.

God bless.
Old 01-07-2012, 09:40 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I seem to be ok for now. I'm using Ativan and I am comfortable but unable to go to sleep. All of the symptoms that were going on earlier today seem to be gone for the moment. It's now exactly 24 hours since my last drink. My wd started about 4 hours after my last drink and raged all day until the Ativan kicked in that I took about an hour ago. I know it's not over yet because it takes me a long time to detox, so when it starts back up again, I'll take another Ativan. I just hope this will be my last time going through this. I'm tired of this.
Old 01-08-2012, 06:33 AM
  # 6 (permalink)