Need lots of moral support

Old 01-07-2012, 03:44 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need lots of moral support

I've finally reached a decision that I can no longer hold onto this life that I am living. I have been fighting this battle of codependency hell for more than 10 yrs and I am throwing in the towel. I have posted here with bits and peices, but I need to lay it all on the table, if only to sort it all out for me. Here's my situation:

I married a drug addict and our family life was very dysfuctional, even though I thought we could still be a functional family unit. When all 4 were still very young, it took 6 yrs, but I finished college and became a nurse. Then my husband was diagnosed with a lung disease, at the age of 36, and I worked 2 jobs to keep up with mortgage, etc....leaving the children in his care most of the time to do this. I still feel guilt over this, which is probably why I have put myself in the situation I am in.

When my spouse died 10 yrs ago, I was left with 4 children, ranging in ages from 19-14 yrs old.My oldest was not living with me, but the others were in high school. I really thought that once the addict was removed, we would somehow all mend from the madness and live happily ever after.

I can sit here and write a book on all the psych facilities, drug treatment centers, hospitals, etc, etc we have visited, but I think most of you have been down this road too and can fill in the blanks. It makes my mind spin when I even think of looking back. I sincerely don't know where I had the strength to go through all of this. Every time one would seem OK, another would step up to the plate, kind of like saying "it's my turn". My caretaking codependency had no bottom!