Notices

About to Give Up

Old 01-05-2012, 09:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

About to Give Up

I have been drinking for eleven years, it keeps getting progressively worse. I must have tried to quit over a hundred times now. I have really been trying since November, and manage up to four days before going back to my old ways. I want to go back to AA, drove to a meeting the other night and was very disappointed that the building was locked and dark. The schedule posted online must have changed. I want to find another meeting and try to go again today. I am torn between fighting and finding hope and the thought of just ending it all. I know that sounds dramatic but I can't stand myself anymore, I am pathetic. I have two young children and one I often can't manage to get off to school in the morning because I can't wake up and function. I don't know what to do anymore.
Old 01-05-2012, 09:09 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

changemyway, you CAN DO IT. If you can I would say go to meetings constantly - several a day if possible - to help you stay sober. Talk about your fears in those meetings, talk about not being able to get up for your kids - verbalizing those issues to a group can be super cathartic and really put you on the right track. I'm pulling for you. Make the CHOICE each day to stay sober.
Old 01-05-2012, 09:12 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

You are not pathetic. But it is easy to feel that way, trapped in an addiction, your thinking warped by alcohol. You said you've tried to quit a hundred times. What do you do now? You try a hundred and one times. You have two kids. They need you sober.

Getting to a meeting today, right now, in fact, sounds like a great idea.
Old 01-05-2012, 09:18 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Changemyway...You joined in May...that was a start..You have posted here. Keep posting. Tellme1 gave you a lot of good advice.