Im on day 61 sober, what to do with AH???

Old 01-02-2012, 07:42 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Im on day 61 sober, what to do with AH???

Hi all, I am new to soberness and doing great. Loving how I feel and being a better parent to my 8 yo daughter.

My issue is my husband. He is a problem drinker. He is very supportive of my quiting and has cut back quite a bit. He is so nice to be around when he is sober. When he drinks, it disgusts me. He looks and acts stupid, yells at our daughter, etc..

Last night he came home drunk and started throwing up. He told me, "Dont say a word, you used to do this all the time." Well it wasn't all the time, but occasionally. I told him "you are right, but I will never do it again." He said "I don't want to hear you get all high and mighty about it." I said, "I'm not, its your problem."

Before he came home we were all together at the neighbors and he yelled at my daughter for talking to him during a game. She was asking for help to pick up the beer cans that he had knocked over in the trash can. Everyone heard him and it was a complete overreaction. She started crying. Thats when she and I left and came home. She said, "he always yells at me when he is drinking beer." I feel so bad for her.

Meanwhile its 1030 and we are waiting for him to wake up because I need him to help me get stuff down from the attic so that we can put the decorations away.

He doesnt drink everynight, but he has been drunk the last 3 of 5 nights and not been around to say goodnight to his daughter.

We have done enough damage when both of us were drinking. Now that I am not drinking I am starting to notice his pattern more and I really don't like him. I am not sure what to do?

Can you be an alcoholic(me) and co-dependent/enabler also?? I dont know how to discuss with him my worries. Our daughter is #1 right now in my book. What is he teaching her???? I know I had a problem too, but I stopped and I am trying to fix it. Now I think he needs to see the light also.