Notices

I no longer want to drink

Old 01-01-2012, 09:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I no longer want to drink

Hello all,

I have been a long time troller on this site, it has alot of good information and great people have shared some really great success stories, listening to members struggle, all is good to hear so we can all gain a little different perspective as we are all different.
I am one of those guys that always thought that alcoholics were the bums at the park, the ones that lived there, perhaps the angry dad wearing a sleeveless shirt that beats his wife, well, I dont fit either of those profiles, so, I must not be an alcoholic-right? WRONG!
One of the big reasons for me not quitting drinking was I didnt want to, I was having a blast, not hurting anyone, and always around for good party.
I have been drinking heavily for almost 5 years now, why? Cause I love alcohol and what it does for me, how it makes me feel. If it wernt for my wife and responsibilities as a dad, my weekends would be spent drunk constantly. I love that feeling, I like me better, and people seem to like me better when I am drunk or drinking. Cares are no more, stress is gone, I am not mean, and other than hurting my health, all was well. If I was sick, my back hurt, or whatever my ailment was, alcohol was there, it made me feel better.
The other day after a late night drunk call to my wife after a night of drinking with my buddies while I was out of town, my wife gave me a wake up call by telling me that she is done sharing me with alcohol and I will have to choose, not today, but soon. And if I am going to drink, she is sleeping on the couch. So, that forced me to take a very serious look at how I drink.