Need a reality check

Old 01-01-2012, 04:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need a reality check

Hi...I'm a newbie and have been lurking here for a few weeks. But I'm definitely not new to the effects of living with an AH. We'll be married 30 years in June and he's been actively drinking for nearly all of it. He white-knuckled it for 6 months just last year, but then started drinking again. He said his relapse was my fault for not giving him the love he needed. He drinks just the hard stuff. Usually 3-4 of the large (1.75L) bottles of vodka and/or gin every week.

What complicates my situation is my two beloved sons. They are young adults...and they are challenged with autism. Both require 24x7 care. The one thing my AH and I still have in common is that we both love our sons deeply. We are very dedicated to them and are very protective of them.

Since losing his job in 2003, my AH has assumed the role of primary caregiver for our sons, and I continue to work full-time. Without a job outside the home, my AH quickly withdrew socially. He makes no effort to see old friends and has no hobbies. He just stays home, watches TV or listens to music, and gets drunk EVERY day. He doesn't cook, clean, handle family finances, grocery shop, do laundry, yard work, or even take out the trash. I have learned to expect little from him.

Over the years, I've been to Al-Anon and consulted with numerous counselors and pastors. I've learned coping skills and resist being co-dependent. I've learned to detach and have been getting by ok. My career and my dear sister keep me sane. My deep Christian faith is also critical and gives me an all-important eternal perspective. I'm also a 2-time breast cancer survivor. But I'm basically a happy person, in spite of the difficult circumstances.

Here's where I need a reality check.