why did I snoop!

Old 12-23-2011, 07:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

why did I snoop!

My alcoholic BF broke up with me this past July rather coldly ( after a 5 yr. relationship) and shortly after I confronted him on his drinking. At first he was teary and wanted to stop drinking but the baffling, cunning and powerful addiction won over. Unfortunately I know he is seeing someone else because I know his ebay account and he has been buying expensive Pandora diamond jewelry for someone and it isn't his mother I am sure.

He never bought me jewelry but TVs and computers. I am an artist and prefer handmade jewelry from craft fairs and such. I just don't understand how someone can move on so quickly and I know I shouldn't snoop. I just wish I could erase his ebay account name from my head. I am an idiot to be sure.

I know deep in my heart that I am better off without him. He is an alcoholic and he was very generous with me. He tends to go overboard with gift giving at Christmas. I see a life coach and she said that a relationship is only as good as it's weakest link. He spent $500 on a diamond charm alone.

It is hard to wrap my brain around this as I am going to al anon and trying to clean my side of the street before venturing into a new relationship. I am really hurting as I feel so disposed of and replaced.

I just feel numb inside.
Old 12-23-2011, 07:22 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hugs. Keep your chin up. Breakups are never easy.
Old 12-23-2011, 07:28 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hugs. Sorry for your loss and pain. In the information age we just have too much information sometimes and it's human to be curious! It's good you recognize you are better off in the meantime. (Is it possible he uses gifts
to overcompensate for alcohol-related behavior?)
Old 12-23-2011, 07:35 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

artygirl,