Notices

Here I go again

Old 12-23-2011, 07:56 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Here I go again

Hi everyone. My name is Emily and i'm 31. I go to school for mental health counseling and work in an office full time. I appear to be very well-rounded and put together, which is how i like it. Unfortunatly, that's not true. I had a little over two years clean when I started drinking again in June of 2010. I stopped drinking in December of that same year but have been stealing my girlfriends prescription meds on and off since then. The clarity and confidence I once had is gone and I don't know how to get it back. I'm ashamed of myself. This is my first time posting and it's making me very uncomfortable, but i'm thankful to have this outlet. Well, I guess I better do some work since i'm getting paid. I hope everyone has a good holiday. Thanks
Old 12-23-2011, 01:19 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Emily

Welcome - you'll find a lot of help and support here

I found clarity and confidence returned once I got straight again - that is of course the tricky bit.

How did you do it last time?

D
Old 12-23-2011, 04:31 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I was in a 2 yr residential program. There was a lot structure and people to talk to.
Old 12-23-2011, 04:43 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Re-Member

When you get yourself together you will be very able in that you are will be a wounded healer. Like our peers helping each other here.
Old 12-23-2011, 10:07 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
SR Fan

Welcome elm!

Glad you've joined us - your true self is still there, just covered up by the addiction. I had a couple long periods of sobriety too, and now wonder why I ever went back.

If we can do it, so can you!
Old 12-24-2011, 12:28 AM
  # 6 (permalink)