Notices

New, and need some help/advice!

Old 12-23-2011, 04:24 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New, and need some help/advice!

Hello, I am a 52 year old with a drinking problem. I drink beer daily, sometimes as much as 14 or 16 a day. I wake up feeling like crap and then the cycle continues. I have been drinking for several years now. I have quit for years at a time in the past, but this time I started again and it seems like it is taking me farther down the rabbit hole. I have a great job, and manage to excel at it most of the time. But I know I could do better without the alcohol. I am a single parent of my 22 month old grandson. He is such a joy to me, but I feel that this alcohol is robbing me of my ambition and quality time that I should be spending with him. I have never sought help for my problem, and I still believe I can quit on my own. But I guess me writing this is somewhat of a cry for help. I have had a couple "Wake up" calls recently, and they scared me! I also am worried that the alcohol is impacting my health in a negative way. I have trouble sleeping now and I wonder if that is due to a side affect of the alcohol. Any suggestions would be appreciated!
Old 12-23-2011, 04:41 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

WOW, that is almost word for word my problem. I am 52 as well, with a drinking problem, Im also drinking alot of beer, quit once for 7 years, back at it hard now with spurts of sobriety....my grandson is 2, and I too am worried about my health. I, however am a total underachiever and have a service industry job (even though I have a Bachelors's degree)
I;ll tell you what... the questions you have about your health and your career you already know the answers to. Hell yea drinking is withholding your potential and affecting your body. I'm a flippin mess. Get sober and do your own study. Please, do it for your grandchild as well.