Notices

Scared of Seizure please respon

Old 12-22-2011, 10:12 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Scared of Seizure please respon

I've been a very heavy alcohol user for about the last two years and finally decided to quit this week. I have been drinking heavily for about 2 years and have had my last drink about 30 hours ago. I usually drank every night around 15-25 shots of vodka. For the past 30 hours I have had the trembles (they seemed to have subsided for now fortunately) but what is worrying me is the extreme disorientation and the mini panic attacks. Every 15 minutes I involuntarily just lose it and forget where I am, what I'm doing and kind of go into a mini panic attack. Is there any chance of me having a seizure from my DT or since It's been 30 hours I'm over the worst of it???
Old 12-22-2011, 10:23 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki

Alcohol detox can be deadly. It isn't anything to mess around with, especially with the amount of alcohol you are used to drinking. I suggest you see your doctor as soon as possible and let him know that you are detoxing from alcohol. If you are feeling too bad, a trip to the ER might be in order. Yes, having a stroke or a seizure is very possible during alcohol detox. Please don't hesitate to get medical help if you feel you need it.
Old 12-22-2011, 10:28 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Crazy Cat Lady

From my understanding, you are at risk of seizures up to 5 days or even a week after your last drink. Your withdrawl symptoms sound severe enough to require hospitalization. If you can I strongly STRONGLY recommending you get to the ER NOW! I've had 2 seizures coming off alcohol and they are scary at best, deadly at worst. You are nowhere near out of the woods. I don't mean to scare you, but if you could contact a close friend or relative to take you in, please do it. Your life really could be indanger.
Old 12-22-2011, 10:33 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
dude in recovery