Gentle input please

Old 12-12-2011, 06:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
once in a . . .

Gentle input please

My husband is in jail on an alcohol-related charge + probably will not be released before xmas.
My son + I are trying to decide what to tell his daughters – my grand-daughters – we really do not want to say where he really is! Any thoughts?
They are 13, 11, 10, 7, + 5. They all think their Papa walks on water.
Old 12-12-2011, 06:07 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hug. I wish I had an answer for you. I don't have kids, and I'm new to addiction.

I can certainly understand you not wanting to tell them -- not wanting to color their judgment of him, ruin their Christmas or burden them with adult problems.

Just thinking out loud ...

Can you tell them that their grandfather is sick (it's not a lie - he does have a disease) and that he won't make it but loves them very much?

Could you tell them gently that he made a mistake -- we're all human and we all make mistakes -- and that he's making it right?

Again, just thinking out loud ...
Old 12-12-2011, 06:23 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
To thine own self be true.

The truth shall set you free.
Old 12-12-2011, 06:28 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

It's probably not ok, but I'd say he's not well and he's being taken care of and we won't see him for a while. I am not saying it's GOOD advice, but it's probably what I'd say. I have had to answer similar questions to my kids about their Dad lately, but they are only 7 and 3.
Old 12-12-2011, 06:32 PM
  # 5 (permalink)