Notices

Hi I am new with 33 hours and Counting. How did I get here?

Old 11-29-2011, 12:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi I am new with 33 hours and Counting. How did I get here?

I am not sure if I am in the right Thread but, here it goes. 2 months ago I decided to wholeheartedly Stop drinking and I now realize that I am physically addicted. I have gone a little farther in my addiction then I thought I could go and my epiphany is I am now stuck on a ride that I cant get off of. Not with out help.

4 weeks ago on a bender and out of pure desperation I called the Police on my self. In my frustration after an entire day spent making about 20 (actually 14) phone calls to various recovery programs, counseling facilities and so on I got a lot of answering machines and a lot of "with no Insurance we cant help you" and a lot of "Ma'am" your going to need to go to the hospital.

My highest low point came when I called the Hospital and I simply asked the Operator if she could transfer me to the or "A" addiction abuse center or put me in touch with some sort of outpatient resources. She transferred me 5 times and I spoke with 5 people who still did not understand the question.

Your Kidding right?

My bright idea in a wasted state of mind became even brighter. That and being in public safety the quickest way to get into the system was to "Get into the system" Jail is a good place to start? I finished a 750 ml bottle of Vodka and put my shoes on an dried my eyes. 8 mins later (I live in a small town) a Supervising officer and his rookie arrived. I begged them to take me and they would not..."FOR WHAT" . I expanded that I am a danger to myself. after an hour with the nice gentleman and a few jokes. They told me to Dry out and come down and fill out a application for a dispatch position. Funny???

I am unemployed have have been for almost a year. I cried and cried and cried and then just passed out after the guys left.

My story continues.