Have some questions...

Old 11-06-2011, 10:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Have some questions...

I am new to all of this and I have some questions that I'm hoping people can give me their experience or knowledge on.

1) When someone is recovering, does sobriety get easier and easier? I quit smoking 13 years ago, and at first it was practically min by min, and then day by day, and then week by week etc. Now, I may occasionally think of a cigarette and a very fleeting desire will creep in, but it's gone as quick as it comes and I have no fear at all that I will EVER go back to smoking. Does sobriety work that way?

2) If I went back to smoking for a week, and then had to quit again, I know it would not be near the same struggle as the first time around. Again, does sobriety work that way? If someone did drink again, after maybe five years of sobriety, and they drank for maybe a week or two, and then went straight back to trying to live a sober life, would it be easier to get back to that sober life again, or is it just as hard as the first day you ever went to your first meeting type thing?

3) If someone, who's only been in recovery for 9 months, says they are not bothered by others drinking in front of them, and that they really don't fight a desire to drink (but still very, very active in AA meetings and retreats), can that be a true statement, or should I be suspect of that?

4) If they truly don't have a problem being around someone drinking beer and truly don't have an overwhelming desire to drink themselves, is that a good sign?

5) This same person also used cocaine, and says that the cocaine use is the direct result of the alcoholism and that his problem is alcohol. If he's not drinking, he has no desire to use cocaine. I guess being drunk, made him make the other very poor decision to use coke too. Does that all make sense, or should I worry more about the cocaine addiction, the alcohol addiction or both equally?