Notices

First day is halloween

Old 10-31-2011, 10:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First day is halloween

I have been drinking daily for 10 years and I'm only 24. Well I blacked out again last night and sent inappropriate messages to colleagues and old girlfriends. I'm married.

I have finally decided to stop drinking and today is day one. I almost threw up in class today and I'm still hungover at almost 2pm. I am going surfing and playing dodgeball later until 10pm when I will be tired enough to fall asleep.

This website has provided me with lots of useful information in my past attempts to cut back or take a break. I have experienced withdrawal symptoms of sweating, nightmares, severe anxiety, depression and hunger in the past, but have not had more than 4 days break since freshman year of college when I wouldn't drink Monday through Thursday. The last extended break would have been junior year of highschool when I quit for baseball.

Ironically, I'm a psychotherapist and almost all of my clients are maintaining sobriety after problems with alcohol.

how many times?
Old 10-31-2011, 10:56 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR!

There is a lot of support here and I hope you find the things you need to stay sober and start a healthy and happier life.
Old 10-31-2011, 12:59 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Yeah thanks. Almost everytime I google something about drinking, this site has shown up and I am here any time I go a day or two and start to feel like ****.
Old 10-31-2011, 01:09 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome howmanytimes

Have you seen a Dr? that's a good first step, especially if you've been drinking heavily and regularly for a while.

D
Old 10-31-2011, 01:11 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I have not. I am going to manage it on my own. As I said I'm a therapist and I am very aware of the dangers of detox and will monitor my situation as will my wife who is also in the field of psychology.
Old 10-31-2011, 01:14 PM
  # 6 (permalink)