Notices

Third time is a charm and darn well better be.

Old 10-23-2011, 04:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Third time is a charm and darn well better be.

After two partially successful cold turkey home detoxes about 3 months ago and about 4 weeks ago. I fell down hard last week. I am once again on day 1 of cold turkey. Tried tapering Thursday - Saturday. Got so sick I couldn't do it. The last two times I made it to day 11, had an irrational sense of well-being (probably bogus pink cloud). After that I was once again 'cured' and proceeded to go through 5 liters of 100 proof and 40 beers in 4 days. I don't black out or pass out when I drink. Never been in legal or marital trouble. I've been drinking for over 20 years. Over the last 5 years I begin to say to myself whoa dude, better slow it down. Over the past two years and especially the last 12 months the amounts and frequency have been totally out of control. I started working my business at home and would drink from 6AM to midnight and not get anything done because I wouldn't/couldn't work while intoxicated.

Now my business is in serious trouble because I can't concentrate and I can't meet deadlines. I realize I haven't had joy in my life in a number of years. I can't remember the last time I laughed or smiled and have run around with a constant look of horror. I know if it keeps up I will loose my wife even though she didn't seem to realize it had gotten so bad. I told her I was out of control and I didn't deserve to be around her or our kids if I don't fix me. Now that it is out of the bag I know I have a pretty good shot.