Disappointing night

Old 10-21-2011, 08:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Disappointing night

Two weeks ago, I broke up with my ABF (like I've done before) ... allowed him to convince me things would change (like he's done before) and they haven't changed (as they haven't before).

It started with an argument this morning. He drank yesterday (his alcoholic friend was over watching the game -- "only two beers") and it made me grouchy (I'm still new to this; I've not been to Al-Anon yet). We got past it, and we were to go out tonight. While he no longer drinks around me, I know he's drinking on his own. Before I saw him tonight, I suspected he had something to drink, which was confirmed upon kissing him. I didn't want to fight, and so I said nothing. I ended up acting passive-aggressive, making a jab about something else. He blew up at me, wanted to go home and we ended the night angry. I suspect he wanted to be alone drink. In the past, I might have continued arguing with him and crying all night. But tonight I just went to my house, feeling more numb than anything.

Such nights are happening way too frequently. Most of the time I expect to be disappointed. We can have an absolutely wonderful night (like Wednesday - no drinking, no drama, delightful) ... but then everything dissolves into disaster.

I just needed to share. Thanks.
Old 10-21-2011, 08:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Make yourself comfortable and read and read. And I sought out Alanon and found it to be a real help.

After his drinking became a topic of discussion, my AH started to hide his drinking. I used to sleuth out the empties, sniff as he walked by, follow him around, all sorts of tricks to determine if and when he was drinking. It really was a useless waste of my time. It didn't affect whether he would drink or not, it only made me angry, which made him angry and became a relentless cycle.