Notices

Aa=na

Old 10-20-2011, 04:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Aa=na

What are the differences between working this step the NA way versus the AA? I am trying to work it the AA way but am not so into it? Basically my sponsor gave me sheets with boxes to put down resentments , my part in them, reasons, then I have to fill out fears of mine. Is the NA way the same?

Thanks
Old 10-20-2011, 04:51 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Evolving Addict

I've been an NA member since I began doing step work, so I have no experience with step work in AA. But based on what I've read and heard, there is a difference. I thought you were an NA member that attended NA meetings? Why would an NA sponsor have you doing AA step work?
Old 10-20-2011, 05:25 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hey Gmoney. My sponsor goes to both NA and AA (not uncommon in my area) he worked the steps in a 12 week AA workshop which he says helped him tremendously. He said he prefferred to work the steps the AA way. I said I didn't think that was for me but I would give it a try. We did 1 and 2 both ways. Am not sure if i'm gonna dump him as a sponsor or not. If he won't do the steps the NA way i prob will.
Old 10-20-2011, 05:33 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Evolving Addict

Oh...okay. I understand now. Have you read Step 4 in NA literature? That might give you an idea of how NA does it...or you can get yourself a Step Working Guide from an NA group or the ASC in your area.
Old 10-20-2011, 08:17 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Grateful to be free

My first sponsor was AA, and my current one is NA. I am NA. I found the AA sheets confusing, but that may be due to how she instructed me. I was better able to address my issues using the NA method, step working guide, etc.

Whatever means allow you to get honest with yourself, ferret out the "exact nature of your wrongs" and move forward are the way to go.