Notices

Been struggling for 8 months. Starting over for the 6th time

Old 10-15-2011, 09:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Been struggling for 8 months. Starting over for the 6th time

I've been drinking heavily for the past 10+ years. Since February i've been trying to quit. Twice i had HORRIBLE withdrawals, this is one of those times. I'm on day 3 and it's better than yesterday. In the past 8 months i had great stretches of sobriety, but always became to complacent with my routine. Eventually there would be a reason to go out, even if i promised myself not a drop. Just like always, i'd allow myself "one", and "one" would turn into a lot more. While going through my withdrawals i did some googling and came across a few sites. That's where I am at the moment.
Old 10-15-2011, 09:42 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Good for you for coming to a realization that alcohol may not be something in your life anymore, but of course I have a few questions for you. Did you just stop drinking and keep on with your life as if everything was the minus the drinking, or as most call it white knuckling it? Or possibly did you just submerge yourself into some other hobby or your job to try and "forget" that you have a drinking issue? I only ask because I saw that you didn't mention any type of support. something that will absolutely help you in recovery is finding the sopport you need and admitting you have a problem and accepting that you are wired as an alcoholic. There is amazing support here and many other types that I'm sure more people will give their two cents on shortly. Just remember, if you were alergic to strawberries...would just one hurt you..um...yes! Just one drink always leads to more drinks if you are wired as an alcoholic. I hope you find what you are looking for here and get the support you need!
Old 10-15-2011, 09:42 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover