Notices

My First Attempt

Old 10-08-2011, 06:49 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My First Attempt

wuts up guys.....i am 28 years old and have been drinking pretty much since i graduated high school....its basically escalated throughout time and now i drink bout 10beers to the face if im out at a bar, club or party. if at home ill have about a six pack to the face and this goes on everyday....i live with roommates who have opposite schedules than mines and when its basically my time to go to sleep to get up in the morning for work, they are up being loud with other friends of mines which leads me to drinking every night just so i can fall asleep...i cant blame them because at the end of the day im the one who puts the beers in my mouth and drinks them....i basically drink because im more social that way, i feel that when im sober im MR. Boring and have nothing to say...i know my drinking habits are wrong and its time to make a right....i saw my doctor yesterday morning and told him my problems....he wants me to stop completely and set an appointment for next week to follow up on my progress...his advice was to get through the first 4days of hell and i would feel better as i went along from there i just need to have a strong will power to quit, if i cant then AA it is.....he prescribed me xanax but told me not to take it unless i started to have bad withdrawals....as of now on day 2, i feel like crap but not that bad....i wish everybody luck with beating this addiction, we can all do it....you only live once and we all would enjoy life better in a sober mind set...the thought alone of being sober this holiday season with my family who i hide this addiction from brings me to tears, i think i owe it to them....bless you all!
Old 10-08-2011, 07:20 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
SR Fan

Welcome ogpr!

Congratulations on your decision to get sober! Very smart of you to see a doctor, too. I think your positive attitude will serve you well.