High Functioning Alcoholic

Old 09-21-2011, 09:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello all. This is my first post and hopefully I'm doing this right! Anyway, I want to lay a few things out there.

I have been battling the bottle for about 20 years. I consider myself to be a rather high functioning alcoholic. About 5 or 6 years ago, I finally admitted that I was an alcoholic. I typically drink only in the evenings when the wife and kids are in bed. I have been married (amazingly) for 24 years. We have 3 kids and live a typical suburban life. I believe in God and we are churchgoers. I have been gainfully employed all of my adult life. No run-ins with the law etc (luckily).

I admit I am an alcoholic and I have trouble putting the bottle away for good, one day at a time. I drank a half liter of vodka last night and I really can't say it was a relapse. I did have 9 days sober though. After swearing off drinking a few years ago, my wife has "caught" me more than once. The last time was about 3 years ago. That was a very ugly scene (no violence). She wanted me out of the house then. Through what I can only say is the grace of God, I stayed and we are now mostly back to a typical couple with normal ups and downs. I guess what I really want to lay out there is...I continue to be a closet drinker on any given night. Typically a half a bottle. My wife may have one or two glasses of wine in the evening. This is only one or two nights a week though. She is not an alcoholic. She thinks that I am ok. I am not in a position to ask her to stop drinking her wine on her one or two nights a week. My drinking has made her a very hard person in some aspects. It would throw up red flags for her. If I drink on a night when she doesn't, I will make up an excuse and sleep in the guestroom so I don't breath booze breath on her at night. Just nuts with my family on the line! Our marriage does NOT have another incident of me being caught drinking again.