Notices

lost and hopeful

Old 09-06-2011, 08:47 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

lost and hopeful

I am new to this and am unsure of what i am doing or saying right now. At one time I was on the opposite end of the drinking spectrum. I used to be the wife attending support groups for people with alcoholics. I am the alcoholic now. I have 6 kids, 2 are step children, and I have a busy work life between my kids. I get called and texted whenever from work constantly, still try to make a homelife work, and then there is my husband. I started drinking when i got remarried almost 3 years ago. I was able to handle every angle thrown at me without loosing my temper. Three years later, I continue to drink every night, at least until I drink myself to sleep. I feel guilty and horrible in the morning, about continuing to drink, but pick it back up the minute I walk in the door after work. I dont get out anymore in the evening, unless I have to, now that my daughter drives. I would be humiliated to go to AA here where I live because of the town I live and wanting to start somewhere, and maybe it is here.
Old 09-06-2011, 09:06 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, mardy06. You'll find a lot of support here!

On one hand, I totally understand how you feel, "I would be humiliated to go to AA here where I live" but one thing you should understand is that everyone going into an AA meeting is going for the same reason. It's not like you'd be the only alcoholic going into AA. Most meetings, even in small towns, are very private. It wouldn't hurt to check it out.
And check out the links and resources on this site, too.
Old 09-06-2011, 09:11 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
~sb

Welcome!

I bet your neighbors and towns people already know you drink. We think we hide it, but it's just delusional thinking. Get yourself some help before you truly humiliate yourself, or harm someone. Sober, it's something you can achieve!
Old 09-06-2011, 09:20 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
~sb

If you search aa then your city and state