New here

Old 08-29-2011, 09:06 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here

I'm quite new to this, and I want to share a little of my story. My partner has been binge drinking on and off in a destructive manner for nearly 20 years-it took me a while to realise. It's not every day, and nothing obvious triggers it.
If I go away for a few days I can be sure she will be off it when I return, tearful, angry or just staring blankly at the TV.
I have spent years shielding our children from the worst excesses, but they are now both near twenty and very mature about it. I'm self employed and until very recently my partner worked in our shop. There have been times when she was drunk in the shop, looked terrible and god knows what customers thought.
It happened again a few weeks ago and I have sacked her-this time for good.
It will be harder financially and for my workload.
She was trying to punch and scratch me in a drunken rage when I told her, and since then an awful,uneasy silent stand off between us. She staggered out to buy another bottle of wine, which was hidden behind bins in an alley..when this sort of thing kicks off I'm just longing for the peace when she falls asleep.
Old 08-29-2011, 10:25 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

painterman,

Welcome to SR. I am sorry for the situation that has brought you here. Please know that there is alot of wisdom and strength posting on these boards. Keep reading.

Are there any AlAnon meetings in your area? Face to face support is very helpful and helps to take the focus off the other persons addiction and puts on you working to live a full and happy life.
Old 08-29-2011, 10:50 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR......you've found a forum that is always open with lots of collective wisdom from people who understand the stress and anxiety of living with alcoholism and addiction.

Feel free to post your thoughts, your rants, your questions, etc. Someone will always be along shortly to respond.....or at least that has been my experience.