Notices

Just Touching Base

Old 08-09-2011, 07:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Just Touching Base

Hi,

This is my first time reaching out to others going through sober recovery. I'm pretty much the standard story of blacking out 5 days a week for a long period of time, and convincing myself that I was doing it for fun, when in fact I was masking an apparent anxiety problem. I started abusing alcohol when I was 13 and enjoyed the ride all the way until I turned 22. I always told myself that I would stop once college ended, however my body had other plans for me. I started going through terrible bouts of insomnia and anxiety this summer. I went 10 days sober, and then convinced myself that I had healed and was able to drink a few beers. 20 drinks later I realized that moderate drinking wasn't something that I am currently able to partake in. I then went through more episodes of extreme anxiety, and I decided if I wanted to be a successful lawyer (my plan since high school) I would have to become completely sober for an extended period of time. I'm now 66 days sober, and feeling pretty good. I've been working out a lot, and for the first time in 4 years believe that I am in good shape. I'm dealing with anxiety, but it isn't as overwhelming as it was during the first 4 weeks of sobriety. I guess my only problem is that I am returning to college in 3 weeks, and I continue to tell myself that I will be able to have 2-3 beers a night at college, and not be persuaded/tempted to drink more. I guess I'm wondering whether anybody has gone through a similar experience, and if so, did you completely abstain from drinking, or did you dabble and use willpower not to booze?
Old 08-09-2011, 07:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)