thank you aol

Old 08-04-2011, 05:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

thank you aol

It all started with the computer. I know it sounds ridiculous, but it's true. When I was growing up we never had one. When I graduated from college, my then boyfriend's parents gave me one. Although it was my computer, the whole family used it. My mom first used AOL through my account. But then she loved it so much she paid for her very own account. She started visiting chat rooms and soon found one that became her "regular" one. I know a lot of people do this, and I don't have a problem with it in and of itself. However, every night when my mom was on the computer, she was also drinking. This was 12 years ago. It has gotten progressively worse as time has passed.

Now, don't get me wrong, my mom has always been a drinker. But not every night, and not to the extent it gets to now. She has started fights out in public, she has been kicked out of several music venues, she has caused major family fights. The last one was a week ago. My husband woke me up at four in the morning to tell me that my mom called. I asked what was wrong and he told me that she had been crying and she wanted one of us to come pick her up. I looked at him and said, "Was she drunk?" He said he didn't know and then I said, "She was drunk." I went back and forth over whether he should go get her or I should. I went back and forth over whether either of us should get her at all. Finally I told my husband to just go get her because I thought it might help to get her away from my dad. I called my dad to let him know that Andy was coming.