Notices

5 months and questioning

Old 08-03-2011, 08:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

5 months and questioning

Hi all,

So I'm now recently 5 months sober, which feels still really bad and good at the same time. Lately, thought I feel my desire to maintain soberity slowly slipping (though I have not yet come close to relapsing) and questioning if I'm really an alcoholic. I hear stories and think we'll i'm not that bad, and I've also in the past gone out and had just two drinks and went home (though that happened few times). It has been a big struggle to remain sober, which does partially clue me in to the fact that perhaps I am an alcoholic. Is all this thinking and questioning part of the "normal" process of soberity?? This is my first time getting sober, so I'm not sure if this is the disease talking. The fact that so many people relapse and attempt many times to get sober also worries me since this is my first...I almost am expecting myself to relapse because that's what statistics show.

Sorry rambling...any thoughts, advice would be great. Thanks!!
Old 08-03-2011, 08:58 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome. Congrats on 5 months. Alcoholic or non-alcoholic? Who knows but do you want to take the chance of going back to picking up and maybe finding out? The fact that your sobriety has been a big struggle might tell you something. As far as statistics, sure some people relapse, some over and over, but sobriety is always possible and many find their way to it. Expectations of relapse can be invitations to relapse. Something in you decided on sobriety, there must be a reason. Hang on to that reason and don't allow time to let it fade or twist it out of shape.
Old 08-03-2011, 09:16 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Cause no harm

Even if you were not an alcoholic, you are far better not poisoning your body with booze. You haven't needed it in five months, why even mess with it. You're doing too well to even consider playing with the dragon.
Old 08-03-2011, 09:24 PM
  # 4 (permalink)